Page Banner Image

Gr K-8: Sacred Teachings

Grandfather Teachings – Video Series

Elder Hazel Dixon recounts the seven principles that form the foundation of an Indigenous way of life: Wisdom, Love, Respect, Courage, Honesty, Humility and Truth.  Together, these seven teachings are gifts that help us respect the Creator, the Earth and each other. In each video, Elder Hazel gives an overview of the teaching, followed by a short story to exemplify the meaning. Full Series Running Time:  31:58

Video Response Worksheets

Whether you wish your students to react to each video individually, or complete a single project in reaction to the entire series, the accompanying grade specific worksheets support further classroom learning. 

Grade K-2

Grade 3-5

Grade 6-8

Support The

Friends of the RSM

Donating to the Royal Saskatchewan Museum funds our scientists and the active science research that they do. Be a part of new discoveries, conservation efforts, and real Saskatchewan science by contributing today.

Donate Now

The Royal Saskatchewan Museum and T.rex Discovery Centre are situated on Treaty 4 territory, the ancestral and traditional territory of the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, Nakota, Lakota and homeland of the M├ętis Nation. We acknowledge the land in an act of reconciliation to those whose traditional territories we are on.